My Cherished Object – Cherished Blogfest

Hello there,

Today’s post is a bit different from my other posts.  This post is about the Cherished Blogfest, hosted by Damyanti, Dan Antion, Paul Ruddock, Peter Nena and Sharukh Bamboat.  Important is to keep your posts to a maximum of 500 words.

 

Finding the most cherished object in my possession was rather easy, because it’s something that belonged to my father.

Let me introduce to you: Papa Bär!

DSCN2980

“Papa” is german for “dad” and “Bär” means “bear”.

I remember how I got him like it happened some weeks ago:

When I was a small girl I always needed a cloth in my arms to fall asleep.  Loosing this cloth was rather easy and I drooled a lot on it (eww).

At this particular night, there was a terrible thunderstorm and I was scared to death.  I was never scared of tunderstorms, but my cloth was in the laundry.  So I went to  my dad and he gave me Papa Bär.

I love the story, how my dad got him:

When he was about 22 years old, he went into this shop and there sat this teddy on one of  the shelfs and stared at him with his wonderful eyes.  My dad felt like he said to him “Buy me! Please…”.  It was like love at first sight.

As a young teddy bear Papa Bär was very fluffy and didn’t look this damaged.  My dad used to say he looks like “someone loves him a lot“.  And that’s the truth.  Since I’m a small girl I need this teddy to fall asleep.  Okay, I don’t necessarily need him, but having him in my arms is comforting and I love his smell (he smells a bit like my dad).

Papa Bär is not only a gift from my dad, he’s not only helping me to fall asleep, but also brings back childhood memories.  When I was young I pretended I’d marry him or that he’s my child and I christened him. He kept the other cuddly toys in check, because they had respect for him and wouldn’t dare making him angry (he’s a bear after all).

I could never give him away, let alone throw him away!

And I will never forget how my dad smiled, when he saw this teddy in my arms.  I brought Papa Bär to him before he had to go into the hospice, so they could say goodbye to each other.  It was his teddy after all and I’m deeply grateful he bought him and later gave him to me.

I feel closest to my dad with this teddy in my arms.

My 22 years old dad would have never thought he would buy such an important cuddly toy when he entered this shop.

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this story, even though it was a bit different than my usual posts 🙂

You can find the other participants of the Cherished Blogfest here.

cherished-blogfest1

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Please feel free to leave a comment!

-Mareike

🙂

14 thoughts on “My Cherished Object – Cherished Blogfest

  1. Pingback: Happy birthday | The Art Of Juggling Life

Leave a comment