Dad’s cancer – The importance of listening to stories

This is part of a series about my dad’s cancer (as the title says). You can find the first post here.

 

It sounds a bit weir d, but today I want to tell you how important stories can be when someone’s about to die.

Stories are important in general to get to know a person better.

When my dad couldn’t go to work, because he had chemo, we drank coffee every Tuesday and Friday around noon.  I had school, but a long lunch break at these days so I came home.

Then I made us some coffee, sometimes we found some cookies in the kitchen and then we sat at the kitchen table and just talked.

We talked about simple and normal things, like how school had been, but the best thing was when he told me stories about his childhood or youth.

My father had been very funny and freedom-loving as a young adult.

I loved listening to his stories, whether they were about a prank or something more serious, for example when he had seen the body of a biker (he had been a biker himself).

I’ve still got the feeling I should know a lot more about him and that there are so many other stories I will never know about.

With these stories he told me I’ve got the feeling it’s a bit easier to keep him in memory as he was.

Also I could see how he had changed – from a wild guy to a caring man.

A piece of advice from me:  Listen to the stories your parents/grandparents tell you.  They want to share something of their history with you.  You can learn a lot from them and will always smile when you remember them.

 

Feel free to ask questions and to leave a comment!

-Mareike

🙂

2 thoughts on “Dad’s cancer – The importance of listening to stories

  1. Hey! I just wanted to drop by and say I am glad you are doing this. I lost my grandfather to Leukemia two years ago and sometime’s I wish I would of written more during that time. I encourage you not to just write about what is going on – but how you feel during these times. Write about the happiness of your dad and the things he still does that reminds you of him pre cancer. Good luck with this battle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂
      I’m sorry for your loss. I still have all of my grandparents, but it only makes it more difficult. Their son died before them.
      Thanks for the idea, I really should write more about my feelings.
      I wish you all the best and good luck too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

